The Hunger Games: Movie vs. Novel

Okay, so I’m going to make a claim here…movies are never as good as the books. Do most of us agree? If they could actually get every single detail, then we’d be sitting through maybe a five hour movie or something crazy like that! So I may be overexaggerating, but a three hour movie doesn’t hurt. Like *cough cough* Lord of the Rings *cough cough* Although I understand the books were much larger than the Hunger Games, so I’ll have to cut that some slack.

So, in general, I thought the movie was done very well. Of course there are some things that really, really bothered me. So here we go: the top ten things they didn’t quite touch up on!

1. How the mockingjay pin was given.

I guess to most it may not be a big deal, but I really enjoyed how it was given before. The basics: it was given by Madge, not by randomly finding it. Although this character doesn’t show up much, later in the series she gets connected with Haymitch, and that small story in itself is quite the shocker. Also, the pin in the movie changes the symbolism all entirely. In the movie the pin symbolizes safety, but in the books it symbolizes rebellion. I think that’s a major point the movie messed up on.

2. The relationship with Haymitch and Katniss.

So, in the movie this wasn’t really touched very well, whereas in the book their relationship was so much better defined. Over the screen you can’t read into Katniss’ thoughts, and that in itself is saddening. Their relationship is pretty strained, and quite frankly Katniss gets annoyed by him most of the time especially when he calls her “sweetheart.” I just think they didn’t do a good job with that one.

3. Gale and Katniss’ goodbye.

I’ll give them credit, they did the whole goodbye scene very well, so kudos! They just missed one little snippet with Gale that really bugged me. In the novel, right when he’s getting pulled out, Gale says, “Remember-” and then he gets cut off. We never, ever know what in the world he was trying to say to her, and that mystery in itself is still in the air (the book never tells us!!) So I was disappointed that wasn’t in there.

4. Cinna and Katniss’ relationship.

They barely touched on this at all, it seems. Cinna is a vital character in the series, and in the movie it just seemed like he was more in the background. He’s quite a funny and great person, and he barely got touched on. Hopefully they’ll do that next movie.

5. District twelve’s symbol.

Three fingers prominent, hold hand in the air, and that’s the symbol of district twelve. Now don’t get me wrong, they did this scene perfectly, I was just confused that they never explained what it meant to people who haven’t read the books. To them it’s just three fingers, but to us book lovers, it means peace.

6. The tributes in training.

This one isn’t really a big deal, but it would’ve been nicer if they emphasized this idea more. In the books, Peeta and Katniss would always be matching, and quite frankly it made Katniss embarrassed; they even matched on interview day! (Peeta had fire on the cuffs of his jacket). But most prominent was the fact that only Katniss and Peeta matched in the training room, and I think they should’ve kept it that way.

7. The cave scene.

I think many are complaining with this one. I think they could’ve cut out the district revolting and show more of that cave scene! It builds up their relationship a lot, and missing out on key points of it was pretty disappointing to say the least.

8. The mutts.

I thought it was a cool twist that the mutts they sent in near the end had the tributes’ eyes. I remember reading her spotting Rue’s eyes and my heart just sunk. Plus I think they needed to be bigger, they weren’t scary to me. Oh, and Cato was running away from them in the book, and I thought that was cooler b/c we got to sit up in suspense reading about him sprinting toward them and then being shocked when he passes right by them. Awesome.

9. The last interview.

The cutest quote in this book, I think, when Katniss says that she’s glad to have Peeta with her. He responds with, “Now that you have me, what do you want with me?” And sadly *sniffles* they don’t have this. As well as revealing Peeta’s fake leg, which totally got thrown out of the movie. Weird. I guess him having one leg isn’t important?

10. The ending overall.

Soooo many things to list here, get ready. The last part of the Games, Katniss has to drag Peeta to the lake since his leg is so torn up, and there they eat the berries together (which they actually put in their mouths!) They get lifted by a helicopter, where Katniss madly persists to be with Peeta for his surgery, but she’s held back. When they reunite is a wonderful scene, we get to see Katniss truly caring about him; oh, and here they show reruns of the Games with the theme of them two (Peeta saying Katniss’ name in the night? Awww). The interview (as mentioned above), Peeta reveals his amputation. Once returning home, it’s revealed that Katniss was only being passionate toward him in order to survive, and that’s when their relationship starts to dwindle. How could they leave that out?

I’m sure there are others I’m missing, so talk about it below! The movie was very well done though, they casted brilliantly and I’m looking forward to the next one! New director, new ideas. My favorite part I’m looking forward too next movie? Finnick 🙂

May the odds be ever in your favor!

Leave a Reply

