What to look forward to in the next movie “Catching Fire”

So, there’s a new director for Catching Fire, and I’m thrilled to see how he’s going to do it. Since they have more money this time around, I’m hoping *crossing fingers* that the special affects will be a mind blow! Granted, the fire Katniss and Peeta had while in the chariot wasn’t that impressive for me. Oh, and I was waiting for a snippet of their humor at that scene. “Shouldn’t Haymitch be here?” “Are you sure you want him around fire?” Awesome.

Quite a few chunks to look forward to. If you haven’t read the books then I tell you now not to keep on reading this post. Then again, I think it’s kind of lame to just see the movie and not read the book; books offer so much more than the movies ever could. Sure, they have the visuals, but the book is so much more detailed than a movie could ever be. Plus you get to learn more vocabulary! Yay!

-The relationship with Katniss and Peeta.

Let’s face it, the first book just builds it up. Personally, I didn’t trust Peeta in the first novel since sometimes I thought he was being manipulative, and in the second one his character gets more solidified. Katniss’ feelings start to get pretty jumbled, and we get to see her actually kiss him and mean it by the water in the arena. I would say that their relationship isn’t the whole force around this book, but that’d be kind of false. President Snow isn’t personally killing off Katniss because she claims she loves Peeta so much, and that’s why she was about to commit suicide with him in the first book, and not because an act of rebellion. So, basically, her life is surrounded by proving something to the Capitol so her butt isn’t whooped with explosives. I know their relationship isn’t the whole idea of the book (hello? overthrowing The Capitol is difficult!), but it’s the small foundation that spices up the plot. I’m looking forward to them portraying this desperation in the next movie.

(not sure of artist, but much appreciated for image on Google!)

-The wedding dress.

No, I’m not gonna blab like a girl shrieking if it’s a mermaid dress or blah blah blah. I’m looking forward to this epicness:

“When I hear the screms of the crowd, I think it’s because I must look stunning. Then I notice something is rising up around me. Smoke. From fire. Not the flickery stuff I wore last year in the chariot, but something much more real that devours my dress. I begin to panic as the smoke thickens. Somehow I’m afraid to stop spinning because my flesh doesn’t seem to be burning and I know Cinna must be behind whatever is happening. So I keep spinning and spinning. Then all at once, the fire is gone. I slowly come to a stop, wondering if I’m naked and why Cinna has arranged to burn away my wedding dress.

But I’m not naked. I’m in a dress of the exact design of my wedding dress, only it’s the color of coal and made of tiny feathers. Wonderingly, I lift my long, flowing sleeves into the air, and that’s when I see myself on the television screen. Clothed in black except for the white patches on my sleeves. Or should I say wings.

Because Cinna has turned me into a mockingjay.” (p.252)

In other words? Epic.

(poster thanks to kath-da on tumblr)

-The new characters.

Beetee, Wireess, Johanna Mason, and *swoon* Finnick Odair. Beetee and Wiress are elder but the brains of the operation, Johanna is sarcastic and usually hot tempered, and Finnick is the protective and hilarious spark placed in the series. I’m looking forward to this new casting!

(art found on google, but whoever the artist is, props to you!)

-The arena.

Gas, crazy monkeys, lightning storms, and just so many more goodies to look forward to in the arena. They better do a good job with the special affects! “tick, tick tick…”

(image by tealbabe)

-The relationship with Katniss and Gale.

I won’t go too into detail, but in this novel we get to see their deeper connection that we didn’t get to see in the first novel. The part that Gale gets whipped and he’s brought back to Katniss’ house is just heartbreaking, but a scene I’m looking forward to see how it plays out. No doubt an emotional ride.

-The beginning of the uprising.

When Katniss and Peeta go on their tour, once Katniss is in Rue’s district, she offers to give some of her food earnings to Rue’s family. One man ends up holding up the sign for peace in district twelve’s district (three prominent fingers), and once the peackeepers start running a muck and Katniss and Peeta are rushed inside, there are gunshots. Sure, this is a small step, but such a powerful one that it can’t be missed.

There are many other snippets in this book that need to be touched on, but those are the main things I’m looking forward to the most. What are yours?

May the odds be ever in your favor.

4 comments on “What to look forward to in the next movie “Catching Fire”

  1. I have sad news for you. They’re not putting Gale’s whipping nor Annie in the movie!
    😦 (I know you didn’t mention Annie in the post, just saying!) It was mostly toward what you said about Gale’s whipping. Sorry to break the news!

Leave a Reply

