The Perks of Being a Wallflower

It’s Tuesday today, and you know what that means? That’s right: totally awesome book Tuesday.

So, this Tuesday I’m introducing an amazing book to you: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is a story about a Freshman in high school, but don’t worry, it’s not the total cliche thing about trying to find himself and blah blah blah. This novel is written in an interesting aspect, it’s compiled of a lot of letters. Every “chapter” is a new letter, and the catch? We never know who he’s writing to. It starts with “Dear Friend.” But although these are all letters, he goes into plenty detail just like any other narration with dialogue and good descriptions.

Along the way, Charlie (the main character) writes about his experiences and his feelings (whether sure or unsure) of his first year of high school. We meet quite a few people along the way, and there are quite a few twists in there that shock us along the way.

Charlie is quiet, reserved, and watches the world around him. As he watches he learns, and with those experiences he writes them down and also makes some mistakes. It’s full of humor, smiles, deep conversations, and a jumble of surprises. I couldn’t put the book down at all!

Now, along the way we get to see that there’s just something a little off about Charlie. Although he’s quiet and reserved, we get this feeling that when he cries a lot, there’s something else about him that he’s not willing to open up to. He sometimes brings up going to a therapist and them asking him questions about a specific family member, but all he cares about talking about with them is school. At the end we finally find out what happened in his past, and wow, it is quite the shocker.

This book is touching and relatable for all types of personalities, even those that aren’t shy like Charlie. Here’s a few quotes for you from the book:

“I don’t know if you’ve ever felt like that. That you wanted to sleep for a thousand years, or just not exist, or just not be aware you do exist. Or something like that. I think wanting that is very morbid, but I want it when I get like this. That’s why I’m trying not to think. I just want it all to stop spinning.”

“Things change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody.”

“So this is my life, and I want you to know that I am both happy and sad. And I’m still trying to figure out how that can be.”

“when I was five years old, my mom always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy.’ They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

“And I swear in that moment we were infinite.”

There are many other good quotes, but I don’t want to bombard you with them. This story is great and very relatable, and you should read it if you haven’t already. Growing up through life never stops, and I think this book helps out those thoughts a bit.

Enjoy reading!

-Sara R.

 

Leave a Reply

