Hunger Games Quotes

It’s always fun going back and quoting some of the best quotes from The Hunger Games, and I’m sticking with the first novel in the series for today.

“I can hardly tell my mother to carry on if I’ve already given up myself. Besides, it isn’t in my nature to go down without a fight, even when things seem insurmountable.” -Katniss, Ch.3

“As long as you can find yourself, you’ll never starve.” -Katniss’ Dad, Ch.4

“The thought of that scruffy old Buttercup posting himself on the bed to watch over Prim comforts me…I’m so glad I didn’t drown him.” -Katniss, Ch.4

“I’m sure they didn’t notice anything but you. You should wear flames more often. They suit you.” -Peeta to Katniss, Ch.5

“Perhaps the girl doesn’t even remember me. But I know she does. You don’t forget the face of the person who was your last hope.” -Katniss (about Avox girl), Ch.6

“If only you could frost someone to death.” -Katniss to Peeta, Ch.7

“I give up, sweetheart. Just answer the questions and try not to let the audience see how openly you despise them.” -Haymitch to Katniss, Ch.9

“I am not pretty. I am not beautiful. I am as radiant as the sun.” -Katniss, Ch.9

“Only…I want to die as myself. Does that make any sense? I don’t want them to change me in there. Turn me into some kind of monster that I’m not.” -Peeta, Ch.10

“Stupid people are dangerous.” -Katniss, Ch.11

“No, I need to look one step ahead of the game. So as I slide out of the foliage and into the dawn light, I pause a second, giving the cameras time to look on me. Then I cock my head slightly to the side and give a knowing smile. There! Let them figure out what that means!” -Katniss, Ch. 12

“To this day, I can never shake the connection between this boy, Peeta Mellark, and the bread that gave me hope, and the dandelion that reminded me that I was not domed.” -Katniss, Ch.12

“His face and arms are so artfully disguised as to be invisible. I kneel beside him. ‘I guess all those hours decorating cake paid off.’ Peeta smiles. ‘Yes, frosting. The final defense of the dying.'” -Peeta and Katniss, Ch.19

“I’ve left on Peeta’s undershorts because they’re not in bad shape and I don’t want to pull them over the swollen thigh, and all right, maybe the idea of him being naked makes me uncomfortable.” -Katniss, Ch. 19

“You know, you’re kind of squeamish for such a lethal person. I wish I’d let you give Haymitch a shower after all” -Peeta to Katniss, Ch.19

“I woke up and you were gone. I was worried about you.” “You were worried about me? Have you taken a look at yourself lately?” -Katniss and Peeta, Ch.20

” ‘For what? Nothing’s going on here,’ he says. ‘Besides, I like watching you sleep. You don’t scowl. Improves your looks a lot.’ This, of course, brings on a scowl that makes him grin.” -Peeta, Ch.20

“This is the first kiss that we’re both fully aware of. Neither of us hobbled by sickness or pain or simply unconscious. This is the first kiss where I actually feel stirring inside my chest. Warm and curious. This is the first kiss that makes me want another.” -Katniss, Ch.22

“I think of Gale, with his velvet tread. It’s eerie how little sound he makes, even when the leaves have fallen and it’s a challenge to move at all without chasing off the game. I feel certain he’s laughing back home.” -Katniss, Ch.23

“Before I am even aware of my actions, my bow is loaded with the arrow pointed straight at his heart. Peeta raises his eyebrows and I see the knife has already left his hand on its way to the lake where it splashes in the water. I drop my weapons and take a step back, my face burning in what can only be shame.” -Katniss, Ch.25

“He looks so clean and healthy and beautiful, I can hardly recognize him. But his smile is the same whether in mud or in the Capitol and when I see it, I take about three steps and fling myself into his arms.” -Katniss, Ch.27

“So now that you’ve got me, what are you going to do with me?” “Put you somewhere you can’t get hurt.” -Peeta and Katniss, Ch.27

What are your favorite quotes?

May the odds be ever in your favor!

Leave a Reply

