Books I want to be made into movies

Okay, so yesterday I posted what books are going to be made into movies, and it got me thinking of the ones not on that list. So, here goes my small rant of what books I’d love to see on the big screen.

My top ten books I want to see in theaters:

10. Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

Well, she has a lot of novels, actually, but so far this one has been my favorite. I like how it’s not just a love story, quite frankly that’s just a minor portion in the bigger plot. Our main character suffers from her past, and she can’t seem to unlock herself into a new life.

I think this one would be a good movie because it just has a lot of interesting plot points. Plus, come on, we’ve gotta have our summer love story!

9. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

I read this one in one of my college courses, and I ended up really liking it. It has two main characters telling a story, and it jumps around from present to past tense (sounds like a mess, but it’s actually really organized). It mixes the idea of religion and modern ideas into one thing, and there’s also a lot of interesting science experiments out in their world. Actually, their world is a lot different than ours in an intriguing way.

This would be awesome on screen because of all the different animals we see, as well as a different setting altogether. I think we as a society love watching movies that let us escape into another reality, and this story would definitely do the trick.

8. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

This one is jammed full of gods from the past, one of main ones being Odin. We encounter gods we’ve never even heard of (trust me, I had to use google a lot on this book). And these gods are a huge plot to this story and not just in the background. We meet our main character Shadow when he gets out of prison and meets Odin on an airplane, although he calls himself Wednesday (he goes by many names). Along the way we start doubting who’s even a human or a god in disguise, it’s quite the interesting plot.

I hear rumor that this is going to be a TV series, but since that’s just a rumor right now, it’s still on my list of things I want to see on TV or in a movie. It’d be very vivid and different, since we get to see gods living on Earth instead of looking down at us. Plus Shadow is a normal person, and to have a regular human engulfed in a middle of a war of the gods is quite an awesome thing to watch.

7. Don’t Die, My Love by Lurlene McDaniel

I’ve read this so many times I can probably start saying it out loud by heart. This is a touching love story about a boy in high school that gets diagnosed with cancer, and we see him struggle through the eyes of his girlfriend. He’s just a very strong character and stubborn on wanting to be healthy again, while simultaneously trying to get a scholarship for football even while sick.

I know there’s a bunch of movies like this already made, but to have someone so young go through it would be an eye opener. I don’t think a character like Luke’s (the boy with cancer) has been introduced to this world, so I think this story on the big screen would make a lot of impact. No matter how many times I read it I always cry!

6. Any of the novels by John Saul (The Right Hand of Evil is on top)

If none of you know John Saul, he’s a fiction writer that focuses on the horror genre. He’s written many books, and I have about ten or twelve of ones he’s written; he never dissapoints me. Even reading I’m on the edge of my seat!

The Right Hand of Evil is my favorite though, although at some points it gets kind of twisted. Then again, what horror story doesn’t? Okay, so this family moves into a house passed down from their family, and everyone in town (small town) is weary of these newcomers because their family is known to be the worst company; pretty much dragging their kids into bad situations. Anyway, we come to learn that the father is a stereotypical drunk and no one likes him and blah blah blah, but once moving to the house, he finds his peace. Well, or so we think.

One night in his drunken state he falls to the basement almost dead, and during which, we find this voice asking him if he wants to live, and what he’s willing to sacrifice for it.

We soon learn to find he offers his son’s life.

We see Jared’s (the son) personality change over time into this rude guy that his twin doesn’t even recognize, and that’s when the dreams start happening. Dreams of horror in the basement of dreadful things, evil things, that she soon realizes are true.

This is a story of possession and evil, so I’ll at least say this story doesn’t hold back the gore. I know it seems twisted, but I think this book would be really scary on the big screen. I know there are already a lot of horror movies dealing with the devil and possession, but for some reason this one strikes me as different. Even reading the visuals creeped me the heck out, so on screen I’d be cuddling a pillow the whole time.

And yeah, I gave a lot of detail on this one because it’s not in the teen genre category, so I figure not a lot know about him. So, voila!

5. What Happened to Lani Garver by Carol Plum-Ucci

Alright, so this one is pretty touchy. So, I think we’ve all ran into people where we’re not sure if they’re male or female, right? Well, meet Lani Garver.

Our main character runs into him (as we eventually realize he’s male), and overtime realizes how awful her friends really are and blah blah blah. Typical story, girl meets dude, finds out her friends are jerks, and decides to hang with him instead.

But here’s where it gets twisted. One night her old friends decide to play a prank on Lani in the ocean by pretending to drown him. But he ends up getting caught in a net and actually drowning.

They now have murder on their hands.

As the plot thickens, our main character runs into a book full of angels, and one of them ends up looking exactly like Lani, and a more mysterious vibe comes into play of what’s actually going on here.

So, why would this be cool on screen? The plot itself. I know we have the cliche high school stuff, but this one gets pretty twisted and complicated. Plus the idea of Lani actually being an angel puts everything into question. It makes us think, would angels come to earth as beautiful, or would they come to earth as someone like Lani, so they can see our true personalities come out?

4. Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements

This is a story of a boy turning invisible, although he has no idea why. One day he wakes up, takes a shower with eyes closed since he’s tired, wipes at the mirror, and finds no reflection there. We see him going through daily struggles, as well as trying to find out what in the world caused him to be invisible.

This would be awesome on screen because of special affects, as well as the plot itself. It just makes us realize what we take for granted in life.

3. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Yes, I know, I’ve been talking a lot about this one. It’s rumored to becoming a movie, but I’m still putting it on this list too. This is a story of Clay finding cassette tapes on his porch, and on these seven tapes is Hannah’s voice who has recently committed suicide. In it, she lists her thirteen reasons why she committed suicide, or more like the thirteen people why. The rules are simple: listen to the tapes, hear your story, and pass it on to the next person on the list.

We get engulfed in Hannah’s story, and find characters overlapping in her life. During which, we wait on the edge of our seats as to why Clay is on the list.

This would be awesome on the big screen because I think it’d open our eyes to something greater than ourselves. A lot of people have gone through suicidal thoughts or a friend of theirs suffering it, so I think this can reach out to a wide audience, even though it’s a touchy subject. And it’s not just the suicide that makes the story either, the story itself is what leads up to it.

2. The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci

This novel is chop full of suspense, mystery, and thrills. There isn’t ever a dull moment in this book, to say the least.

A boy named Christopher Creed is one of those characters that gets picked on and so forth because of his awkward demeanor and “annoying” traits. And one day, he just doesn’t show up. Or the next day. Or the one after that.

The school starts getting suspicious, and our main character ends up hacking into the system to find the letter rumored that Christopher left before his disappearance. It looks to be a runaway note, or even worse, a suicidal note. And to top that off, we find our main character’s name on the letter as to a reason of Chris leaving.

The mystery gets more in depth as the plot thickens, the question if it was suicide, a runaway, or even murder. Suspects start popping up, the school starts turning on each other, and friendships are torn.

This would be a great movie because of the constant suspense and mystery, as well as our own main character’s development along the way. It’s a cool genre to see in the teen world to have a type of horror story, so to see it on screen would be even better.

Now for the top one on my list.

1. Maximum Ride series by James Patterson

This series is extremely popular, but if you all don’t know what it’s about, it’s basically about these six kids that have escaped the School (a science lab). They were experimented on, their DNA changed and proded at, until they turned 2% avian. They are blessed (or cursed, however you wish to look at it) with wings, and some have powers too. The leader of this “flock” is Max, and her five other members include Fang, Iggy, Gazzy, Nudge, and Angel. They are constantly on the run from the scientists and other threats.

Now trust me, hearing this plot I was iffy at first, but I was hooked only ten pages into the first novel. Our narrator, Max, is witty and keeps us laughing, while also keeping it serious with her other flock members. In a way these characters are a lot like us, just blessed with the extra limbs of wings for flight.

Why would this be awesome on screen? Okay, here’s my rant. The wings! The characters, the popularity, their powers, the visual effects, the plot itself, new creations/species, and plus there’s so many books that we’d be granted with oodles of movies! The more Max the better! It’s an amazing story, so check it out!

And hopefully *cross fingers* check it out on big screen too.

What books do you want to see made into a movie?

Keep on reading!

-Sara R.

2 comments on “Books I want to be made into movies

  1. Although I agree with almost all of these (except the few I haven’t read), I have to admit that I would like to see The Book Thief (Markus Zusak) as a movie. It’s written from the POV of Death, and it’s an amazing book.
    But while I’m here I have to sort of protest your summary of Lani Garver. I just finished reading it (AND OMIGOD IT’S SO SAD) and I think it’s not really about Lani so much. It’s really more about Claire and how Lani just helps her find the middle ground.
    BUT I LOVE IT SO MUCH I COULD EXPLODE FROM THE AWESOMENESS.

    • I haven’t read The Book Thief yet, but I need to get around to it! Sounds really good.
      Yes, I haven’t read Lani Garver in SO long, but thanks for the correction! I do recall Claire going through a lot of things, so I’ll make a side note of that when I focus a post on that novel 🙂

Leave a Reply

