Movie quotes from The Hunger Games

Although I know that the quotes in the book are so much better, I’ll still quote things from the movie too, since I’m sure there’s people that’ll appreciate it! I’m so excited for it to come out on DVD already!

“I’ll still cook you.” -Katniss (to Buttercup)

“How many times is your name in today?” “42. I guess the odds aren’t exactly in my favor.” -Katniss and Gale

“Listen to me. You’re stronger than they are…they just want a good show. That’s all they want.” -Gale

“Embrace the probability of your imminent death and know, in your heart, that there is nothing I can do to save you.” -Haymitch

“Look at you. You just killed a placemat.” -Haymitch

“That is mahogany!” -Effie

“You better keep this knife. He knows what he’s doing.” -Haymitch (to Katniss, about Peeta)

“So, you’re going to make me look pretty?” “I’m here to help you make an impression.” -Katniss and Cinna

“I don’t think they’ll let them have dessert…And you can!” -Effie

“What?” “I think someone’s a little nervous. I said that was quite an entrance that you made at the tribute parade the other day.” -Katniss and Caesar

“Manners.” -Effie (to Katniss after she attacks Peeta)

“Nice job, sweetheart. Nice dress too…not yours.” -Haymitch (to Katniss and then Effie)

“Thank you for your consideration.” -Katniss

“Loosen your corset. Have a drink.” -Haymitch (to Effie)

“Hope. It’s the only thing stronger than fear.” -President Snow

“Maybe you should throw the sword.” -Katniss (to Cato)

“You have to win.” -Rue

“Deep in the meadow, under the willow
A bed of grass, a soft green pillow
Lay down your head, and close your sleepy eyes
And when again they open, the sun will rise.

Here it’s safe, here it’s warm
Here the daisies guard you from every harm
Here your dreams are sweet and tomorrow brings them true
Here is the place where I love you.” -Katniss (singing)

“Well, say something.” “I’m not good at saying something.” “Then, come here. Please” -Katniss and Peeta

“Katniss, you’re not gonna risk your life for me. I’m not gonna let you.” “You’d do it for me. Wouldn’t you?” -Katniss and Peeta

“I heard the cannon. That’s nightlock, Peeta! You’d be dead in a minute!” “I didn’t know!” “You scared me to death! Damn you.” “I’m sorry…I’m sorry.” -Katniss and Peeta

“We should probably hunt around here. We don’t have very much food left.” “Ok, I’ll take the bow…I’m just kidding.” -Katniss and Peeta

“Go on. Shoot. Then we both go down, and you win. Go on. I’m dead anyway. I always was, right? I couldn’t tell that ’til now. How’s that? Is that what they want, huh? I can still do this. One more kill. This is the only thing I know how to do. Bringing pride to my district. Not that it matters.” -Cato

“I couldn’t imagine life without him.” -Katniss (with Peeta)

“So, what happens when we get back?” “I don’t know. I guess we try to forget.” “I don’t want to forget.” -Peeta and Katniss

What are your favorite quotes from the movie? Get ready for the DVD release date on August 18th! And may the odds be ever in your favor.

Leave a Reply

