Confessions of a Novel Writer

How many different confessions are there anyway? Blogaholic, shopaholic (funny movie, by the way), and probably of a caraholic! But today I bring you the confessions of a novel writer, or I guess a “novelholic.”

I am not a published author (yet, hehe), but I have been writing novels since my freshmen year of high school, and I’m currently in my second year of college. I’ve written six novels that I can easily push away, the ones I’d like to call my rough drafts. I’ve written a series that contains two stories, and those were my babies for a long time, and yet a new idea came sprawling out of its belly like Alien. So now I’m working on a series, currently the fourth book in, and I’ve been submitting it to literary agents. I’ll introduce you to the characters and such later on in my blog, but right now I’d like to reach out to all my fellow writers or ones that would like to write. I’ll mainly be referring to novel writing, but I’m sure some will still pertain to other types of writing too 🙂

Here are the side effects of being a novel writer:

-Hearing songs on the radio, and trying to pertain the lyrics to some type of character or a scene. Rock song? Oh, that goes with my tougher character. Bubbly song? Yay, party scene!

-Watching movies and thinking: dude, I could’ve written a better script. The way that guy lived after that happens is so unrealistic.

-Pointing out cliche things in everything.

-Correcting grammar online, while your (not you’re) friends talk, and even while you talk. “Me and–agh, I mean, my friend and I…”

-Meeting people and picking out the characteristics you want to jot down into a character.

-Noticing minor details everywhere. A guy twidles his thumbs while he talks? Ah! Character trait!

-Dreaming of your novel all the time.

-Random sparks of a scene to write, which entitles you to carry around a notebook everywhere you go.

-Your characters start talking to you in your head as you write. “No, I wouldn’t do that, what are you thinking? Idiot!” “Okay! Sorry, fictional character!”

-Getting emotionally attached to fictional characters. Which makes you end up crying when you kill someone off, laugh when they laugh, and smile when they’re happy.

-You meet someone that has the same name as a character you have, and you end up comparing the two.

-You walk into a book store and think in an evil voice, “Mwahahahaha my book is going to be here someday!” If you don’t do the evil voice it’s not as fun.

-Writer’s block makes you feel like your life is on pause.

-You go on vacation, and since you can’t write while with family, you picture your characters in the same situation you are in. “What would so and so do if their sister threw a rock at their head? Hmm…”

-If a fantasy novel (like mine), you start thinking how much easier life would be if you had certain powers. “If only I had his power of turning people into ice, then I wouldn’t have to listen to this guy blab about his pet fish. It’s a fish!”

-You start narrating yourself in your head in detail. “I went to the kitchen this morning, one sock on and one off, and realized that once again I was stuck at looking at an empty cabinet.”

-As you daydream, you start envisioning the conversations in quotation marks too.

-You roll your eyes when someone in class asks, “If it’s in first person, does it mean the writer is talking about themselves?” Yeah, sure, the author is a hobbit trying to return the ring back to Mordor. *face palm*

-Your mood reflects the mood of your story. Your characters broke up? Sadness. Your characters just got back from a party? Bubbly and moving around!

-You laugh at people complaining to edit their essays. Try editing a whole novel!

-You start picking out actors/actresses that could play the role of your characters in a movie.

-People start looking at you funny when you say, “I wrote a 600 page novel. But don’t worry, it seriously writes itself!”

-And last but not least, being a writer makes your life feel more controlled in general. It may just be a fictional world you’re controlling, but it still gives you some type of relaxation knowing that in some aspect you’re the master of someone else’s life.

Keep on writing, and keep on reading! As Nathaniel Hawthorne said, “Easy reading is damn hard writing.”

-Sara R.

 

2 comments on “Confessions of a Novel Writer

Leave a Reply

