Fang Friday

If you all don’t know who Fang is, then I order you to pick up the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson and get reading! Now! Right now! But I’ll be nice and give you a summary of this awesome guy.

So, Fang is part of Max’s flock, and they’re experiments from the School (what Max calls the science lab they escaped from). They’re 2% avian, so they have bird wings for flight, and some are blessed with “special” abilities as well. So, let’s visit Fang a little bit more.

Fang is the strong, silent type in this novel, and he usually wears his black hair long to cover most of his face. In the first book (at least for a while) he had it so long that it was up in a ponytail, but thank freaking goodness he cut it b/c guys and ponytails=yuck. Anyway, he’s basically like second in command next to Max, although I don’t think she really listens to him much anyway, ha! At least not at first. He’s described as having slighter darker skin, like a permanent tan (at least that’s what I get out of it). He has black wings (I think like a crow), although at certain angles his wings are described as almost a purple hue from the light hitting it a certain way. They’re fourteen feet and full of epicness, of course. Later in the series he gains the ability of invisibility if he stands or sits completely still, which I think fits his character perfectly because of his natural silence.

Oh, and those of you that aren’t aware, this Maximum Ride series has been turned into a manga as well, and here is manga version of Fang (I’m too stubborn to show him with long hair, since in the actual series he cuts his hair fairly early):

So, here are some fun quotes by and about our favorite dark-winged guy in the world:

“ ‘There is one bright side to this,’ said Fang.
‘Yeah? What’s that?’ The new and improved Erasers would mutilate us before they killed us?
He grinned at me so unexpectedly I forgot to flap for a second and dropped several feet. ‘You looove me,’ he crooned smugly. Holding his arms out wide he added, ‘You love me this much.’
My shriek of appalled rage could probably be heard in California, or maybe Hawaii.” -Max and Fang

” ‘Holy [Insert your choice of a swear word here],’ said Fang stunned.”

“Beside my fashion sense? I play a mean harmonica.” -Fang

“Pick a tree. I’ll carve our initials into it.” -Fang, teasingly to Max

” ‘So you have your price,’ I said with a mouthful of crumbs. ‘Your soul for a cookie.’ Fang made sure Dr. Martinez wasn’t looking and then shot me the bird.” -Max to Fang

“ ‘We will destroy you,’ the Flyboys droned. ‘You have no escape.’

‘That was the most imaginative, threatening thing the whitecoats had programmed these ’droids to say? Talk about lame,’ Fang muttered.”

” ‘Fang! Come Back!’ I started pulling his hair. Shaking his head and shoulders. Hard. ‘Wake up! Snap out of it! You stupid jerk! I am going to kill you if you die on me!’ ” -Max

“ ‘I choose you,’ he said very softly, ‘Max.’
Then his hard, rough hand tenderly cuppoed my chin, and suddenly his mouth was on mine, and every synapse in my brain shorted out.
We had kissed a couple of times before, but this was different. This time, I squelched my immediate, overwhelming desire to run away screaming. I closed my eyes and put my arms around him despite my fear. Then somehow we slid sideways so we were lying in the cool sand. I was holding him fiercely, and he was kissing me fiercely, and it was…just so, so intensely good. Once I got past my usual, gut-wrenching terror, there was a long, sweet slide into mindlessness, when all I felt was Fang, and all I heard was his breathing, and all I could think was ‘Oh, God, I want to do this all the time.’ ” -Fang and Max

“ ‘And Flock Rule Number Two is, Don’t argue with Max or you’ll live to regret it.’ I spun and stomped out to the clearing, turning back for one last jab at Dylan. ‘And by the way, you clearly DON’T know me better than Fang does. Do you see Fang arguing with me? No, you do not.’
Fang rolled his eyes.” -Max to Dylan

“Oh great. Yoda captured us.” -Fang

And this one was in the back of “Fang” when he was answering some questions from the blog he has, and it made me laugh so hard: 

“Do you ever have dirty dreams about Spongebob?”

“Definitely” -Fang

Alright, I’ll quote more stuff from Fang’s questions and answers like the one above, since they’re so dang funny, and here’s the link to the post that has them: Fang Friday: Part Two

For now, I feel like to appreciate mister Fang, we gotta have some fan art on here too! So, enjoy the fan art brought to you by deviantART

art by burdge-bug

Ooooooh, darker side of Fang. Me likey. Art by kittrose

art by CoreenXavierson

Aww 🙂 Fang talking with Max while she’s upset. Gotta love scenes like this with these two. Artwork thanks to burdge-bug

art by just-one-more-freak

And because I can, I’m putting my own realistic drawing of him, since I worked by butt off on it a year or so ago, ha!

Make sure to check out all other art on deviantART, and I’ll be sure to post more about this awesome series later! Have a fangtastic friday (get it? FANGtastic instead of fantastic? I crack myself up).

Fly on!

Leave a Reply

