Maximum Ride: Iggy

Okay, so I think it’s time to focus on one of my favorite characters of all time, and my favorite in the Maximum Ride series: Iggy. Feel the Iggy love today, baby! YEAH! (thanks to SpiralNinja05 for the featured image)

Anyway, this kid is the fun-loving bird kid who’s blind, a pyro, and has an excellent sense of humor. I’m very sad that his role gets underplayed a lot since he’s my absolute favorite character in the James Patterson series “Maximum Ride”, but the moments he does have are priceless. So today I celebrate this wonderful guy! 😀

Here’s more of a background: these six kids were experimented on while they were born, and scientists included 2% avian in their blood, so their bones are dense and and they have bird wings. Awesome, right? So, Iggy’s eyes got experimented on (which you get to see first hand in the last book, which freaking broke my heart), that was supposed to improve his eyesight, but obviously that went bad and now he’s blind. Does this bring our Iggy down? Nope. Over time Iggy picks up the power to feel colors, as well as see objects with a white backdrop. His senses are the best in the whole flock, where he can identify anyone in the flock based on footsteps, feather texture, or the feeling of their skin. Max is quoted to say that she’s the most comfortable with Iggy keeping watch because of his high senses. Oh, and only once do we see Iggy break down because of his blindness, or about twice, and those scenes are my favorite yet are so sad at the same time.

And for those of you that don’t know, the Maximum Ride series has become a manga, so I’ll show you what Iggy looks like in this manga (he’s on the left in the first picture):

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, to appreciate mister Iggy (whose real name is James, as we find out early in the series), I’m going to quote our six foot two, skinny, and awkward guy to his glory 🙂 Ah, I love Iggy.

“Fnick,” I heard Iggy mutter under his breath and I ignored him.
“So Fnick, can I change the channel? There’s a game on.” Iggy said.
“Make yourself at home, Figgy,” Fang said.

“I offered to pee on him but they said no,” Iggy said, sounding disapointed.

Iggy: “Ok, so  I know it’s spring, and we’re all thinking about the birds and the bees, and the moths and the caterpillars . . .”

Nudge: “Moths?!”

Fang: “No one’s thinking about caterpillars.”

“I’ll grab a zebra; Gaz, you fill all the bubbles with your trademark scent, so people are choking and gagging; and let’s throw beef jerky in their eyes! Now, that’s a plan!”-Iggy

“…and since we’re not surronded by snow. I’m still blind, on the other hand this carpet is a tasteful ecru with a thin cinnamon stripe close to the wall.” -Iggy

“He’s gonna be fine,” I confirmed.
“Can we see him?” Iggy asked.
“Ig, I hate to break it to you, but you’re blind.”

Max: “Okay guys, I had a couple thoughts I wanted to go over with you.”

Iggy: (pretends to snore loudy)

Max: (throws another pinecone at him)

Iggy: “Quit throwing things at me!”

Max: “Glad you could join us.””

 

Iggy: Can I come in?”

Max: “No! I’m in a towel!”

Iggy: “I’m blind!”

 

Borcht: “Does anysing on you vork properly?”
Iggy: “Well, I have a highly developed sense of irony.”

“How did you become blind, uh, Jeff is it?”
“Yeah, Jeff. Well, I looked directly at the sun, you know, the way they always tell you not to. If only I had listened.” -Iggy

Nudge: “You aren’t dead.”
Iggy (irritably): “No. You aren’t dead either. How about just ‘hello’?”

And now for some fan art from deviantart, since you can’t enjoy Iggy without some awesome art work 🙂 it’s hard for me to narrow it down!

Aw! burdge-bug draws Iggy and Gazzy high five-ing after probably a huge explosion ^_^ even though Iggy is blind, he never misses a high five, especially with his best friend.

Oh, the sweet sound of explosives in the morning 🙂 SpiralNinja05 draws Iggy being his happy little self while listening to something explode. I also love Gazzy’s face ^_^

I can’t stop laughing XD annastasia draws Iggy all happy about his new power about feeling colors. I love Max’s face to the side, probably thinking: oh my goodness, please someone shut him up.

Ha! tanginova draws Iggy holding a birthday cake, which probably has some type of explosives in it lol I love his cruel little smile

Awww 🙂 Reckoner97 draws Max and Iggy together, which is actually really sweet. Pictures like these reminds me that Max cares about everyone in the flock and not just Fang.

Ha! 😀 I love how SpiralNinja05 drew Iggy here 🙂 He’s such a pyro, and he’s acting all innocent while listening to his ipod. Love this drawing!

And just because I can, I’m putting mine up here too 😀 my deviantart username is srobi, and I recently drew Iggy 🙂 So, hope it’s good enough to fit with the others!

 

This one is by far my favorite done by Blue-Hearts. He just looks so serene in his blind world. Ah. I love Iggy so much 🙂

Yay Iggy! 🙂 I’ll be introducing more of the flock later, I just had to do Iggy today because it just feels like an Iggy kind of day! Plus we gotta do our favorite characters first 😉

What’s your favorite quote by Iggy?

Fly on!

2 comments on “Maximum Ride: Iggy

  1. IGGY ❤
    I keep hearing stuff about making an MR movie, but not sure if that's true, seeing as the director quit a few years ago. Hope they get round to making one though :3

Leave a Reply

