Before I Fall

It’s totally awesome book Thursday! And today I bring you “Before I Fall” by Lauren Oliver.

Here’s the synapsis:

“Samantha Kingston has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12th, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last.

The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. Living the last day of her life seven times during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death–and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.”

6482837

So, let’s dig a little deeper!

Well, not sure exactly why it’s described as a huge mystery as to how she dies, it’s actually quite obvious. She dies in a car crash; the mystery lies as to how it happened. The only clue is that she hears her best friend say something along the lines of “sit” “shit” or “sight.”

Anyway, it’s actually an interesting journey to watch her evolve in a week. Of course at first she’s confused about waking up the next day after her death, but when she figures out that it’s something supernatural, she starts taking risks to save her life. Every day she tries to change the day so she won’t get killed, but no matter what she does, something horrible ends up happening anyway. The whole conflict, more or less, lies at the party she goes to at night. She knows it’s there that she has to change something to save herself.

But of course she makes mistakes along the way. One day when she forces her friends to stay with her to not go to the party, someone commits suicide. Another day when just Samantha doesn’t go, another one of her best friends die because they’re sitting in the car where she was. She attempts to fix her life in different ways each day, each coming up a failure.

Although there is one day much different than the others…

So, let me give you a few quotes. I really liked the small snippets of wisdom in here, it made me think about my own life a bit at some points. I enjoy books that give you epiphanies.

“Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around it, let it slide like coins through you fingers. So much time you can waste it.
But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.”

“So many things become beautiful when you really look.”

“I used to think that’s what love was: knowing someone so well he was like a part of you.”

“That’s when I realized that certain moments go on forever. Even after they’re over they still go on, even after you’re dead and buried, those moments are lasting still, backward and forward, on into infinity. They are everything and everywhere all at once.
They are the meaning.”

“I’m not with Rob,” I say quickly. “Not anymore.”
“You’re not?” He’s staring at me so intensely I can see the stripes of gold alternating with the green in his eyes like spokes of a wheel.
I shake my head.
“That’s a good thing.” He’s still staring at me like that, like he’s the first and last person who will ever stare at me.
“Because…” His voice trails off, and his eyes travel slowly down to my lips, and there’s so much heat roaring through my body I swear I’m going to pass out.
“Because?” I prompt him, surprised I can still speak.
“Because I’m sorry, but I can’t help it, and I really need to kiss you right now.”

“Things change after you die, though, I guess because dying is the loneliest thing you can do.”

“I used to lie here like this all summer long,’ I tell her. ‘I’d come up here and just stare at the sky.’
She rolls over on her back so she’s staring up as well. ‘Bet this view hasn’t changed much, has it?’
What she says is so simple i almost laugh. She’s right, of course. ‘No. This looks exactly the same.’
I suppose that’s the secret, If you’re ever wishing for things to go back to the way they were. You just have to look up.”

Read on! And just consider this: what if you only had one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Leave a Reply

