Overall thoughts after reading the Maximum Ride series

  • Sorry for long title, but I couldn’t shorten it up any more than that 🙂

Maximum Ride is a young adult series written by James Patterson, that consist of eight novels all together.

maxseries

Overall I love this series, hence: why I have a whole section in my blog dedicated to it. Dur 🙂

However, it’s time to go more in-depth into the series as a whole. I’ll be kinda mean sometimes, so don’t mind me. Some things just really bothered me…

Here’s my rank of best to worst of the books, starting with the best:

-Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports. Freaking epic, and it has the funniest stuff in there. Plus Fang and Max are officially together. No fighting between them, just bliss. All the characters have their glory.

-The Angel Experiment. Max is the funniest in this one. Plus it’s the first, and I loves ❤

-School’s Out Forever. Good character developments.

-Max. Fang and Max get closer, and her mom is a bigger part in the story as a whole.

-Fang. Interesting plot developments. Hate the ending though.

-Angel. The core of the plot of people trying to destroy the world are at a good rank in this one. It goes back to the old roots of the beginning of the series. It’s just…characters…not touched that much.

-Nevermore. Weird that the last book is near the end of my list, huh? So disappointed :/

-The Final Warning. No one cares about global warming, Patterson! Stop preaching to us and get back to the plot! Gosh DANG IT!

There you go 🙂 so, like I said before, I really love this series as a whole. I love Max’s attitude and witty comebacks, and having her as a narrator was clever and fun to read. That said, here are my thoughts of the series as a whole, mainly with the last book.

  • My biggest complaint, that’s what I’ll start with first: Iggy. Why was his character so lost as the series progressed? 😦 He was and is my favorite character, yet Patterson threw him in the background as the series went onward. Very sad. In the last book Iggy could’ve had more glory, like touching the trees in “paradise” to “see” the colors, or have his treehouse painted white so that he can see everything around him. So many opportunities lost with him.
  • Gazzy and Nudge were lost as well. Nudge never had much of an impact on me even from the beginning, and I thought he’d grow her character. When he does try to have scenes with her I can’t connect. Sad face 😦
  • Angel. *shakes my head* She got too crazy for me. I dislike her character as a whole, and didn’t like her from book four to six. I finally felt some pity for her in the last book, but still…she was just unecessarily overdone. Which brings me to the next point…
  • Angel can NOT be the Voice!! AHHH!! If anything pissed me the hell off in the last book, it would be that. Not only does it piss me off that Patterson wanted to give Angel yet another attribute, but it’s another thing that it makes absolute no sense. She can read minds…so? Can she really be that smart in knowing everything? No. How would Jeb know about the Voice? How could Angel reach Max at such far distances? In the last book, she could’ve said in their head, “yo, get me out!” instead of using the Voice. Plus Angel said she had her own Voice. It’s just pissing me off. I think Iggy should’ve been the Voice. He can be like, “yo, I’m blind, but I’m freaking smart as hell. You’re welcome.”
  • Positive note: I loved the relationship between Fang and Max. It’s not ooey-goeey, but the realistic kind where you have problems and where you get in heated arguments. They’re real, and I can connect. I love them!
  • Was Total necessary?
  • Ella should have more character development. When Iggy kisses her at the end I was like, “hmmm…wish I felt more than just a small smile.”
  • The Final Warning wasn’t necessary. At all.
  • Get ready: I actually like Dylan. In “Fang” I didn’t like him much, but in “Angel” I got to liking him. He brought out a lot in Max that Fang couldn’t easily do. Just the whole “I was designed to be with you” thing creeped me out a bit. I mean…sheesh.
  • So…Dr. Martinez was brainwashed by Jeb in book seven and eight? No. Just no. Stop finding the easy way out, Patterson. Should’ve gotten more creative than that.
  • What happened to the red headed wonder? Max was warned that she could be a problem. Yet she never came back. And another plot point was missed: Ella running off in “Angel” to get wings. Yet that’s not touched ever again in “Nevermore.” I mean…wtf?
  • I love Max. I love her personality, her witty comebacks, and her thoughts. She’s a great narrator. I know her character grows throughout the series, but I still wish her sarcasm was kept in the later books. I missed them.
  • I didn’t really like how much the flock exposed themselves to the world. The plot was much better when they had to hide.
  • I love Ari. I mean, at first I hated him, but in the third book I loved his character. I’m so mad Patterson brought him back in the last book. He should’ve left him alone.
  • Patterson is great with twists. Every book seemed to have one (almost), and it kept me guessing as to what’s coming next.
  • The amount of enemies was great. What happened with Itex? Maybe I just don’t remember…
  • The very very ending of the last book was nice, although I would’ve enjoyed the whole flock there together instead of just Dylan, Angel, Max, and Fang. Again this shows lack of connection with the other flock members. Sad face 😦 

But, like I said, I liked the series as a whole very much 🙂 I just think some details should’ve been left out and some should’ve been added. I do like the characters altogether though, they compliment one another and make the plot more realistic.

I shall miss Max, but of course I can always go back and read her stories any time I want 🙂

Fly on!

-Sara R.

Leave a Reply

